top of page

About

JOA_2220-2.jpg

Photo credits Joanna Pianka

About

They are smooth as well as uneven, soft as well as hard, simple as well as exuberant. In her sculptural and installative works Daniela Trinkl uses both natural as well as artificial materials, whereby the plastic polyurethane foam plays a central role. The objects create an uncertainty as to whether they are organically grown or highly technically produced. Their hybrid appearance opens up a visual language between artificial and alive, alluring and bizarre. Thus they become ambassadors of an unknown science fiction world.

The starting point of these works is the exploration of human´s creative and inventive striving. Trinkl´s focus lies on the question of a synthetic existence, which she explores both critically and humorously.

The artist is interested in the idea of the artificial creation of life and its controllability. The associated dystopian potential manifests itself in her sculptures behind their highly aestheticized look. In this sense, Trinkl´s work adresses ecological, technological, biological as well as mystical and mythological contexts.

 

After completing the college for object design in 2011, Trinkl studied art history at the University of Vienna, where she graduated in 2016 (BA). She is currently completing an MA degree at the University of Artistic and Industrial Design in Linz in the Department of Plastic Concepts with Prof. Frank Louis.

The artist has shown her work in numerous national and international exhibitions. Her recent projects include Parallel Vienna (2022, Artist Statement), Salzkammergut Festwochen Gmunden (2022) and House of losing control/Vienna Art Week (2021). Trinkl's works can be found in both private and public collections such as the Dr. Hans Hoch Foundation in Neumünster/D. The artist received various work and travel grants, including a travel grant from the Austrian Federal Chancellery. In addition, she was selected to take part in several artist-in-residence programs, such as the art collection of the state of Upper Austria in the Salzamt Linz and the renowned PILOTENKUECHE in Leipzig. Trinkl has taken part in Artist Talks, such as Talk at Kunstquartier Alte Handelsschule Leipzig, and has been invited to speak about her work at Freies Radio Neumünster, where she was doing one of her residencies.

bottom of page

About

Sie sind glatt genauso wie uneben, weich genauso wie hart, schlicht genauso wie überbordend. In ihren skulpturalen und installativen Arbeiten greift Daniela Trinkl auf natürliche sowie künstliche Materialien zurück, wobei der Kunststoff Polyurethanschaum eine zentrale Rolle einnimmt. Die Objekte erzeugen eine Unsicherheit, ob es sich um organisch Gewachsenes oder hochtechnisch Hervorgebrachtes handelt. Ihr hybrides Aussehen öffnet eine Formensprache zwischen artifiziell und lebendig, verführerisch und bizarr. So werden sie zu Botschaftern einer unbekannten Science-Fiction-Welt.

Ausgangspunkt dieser Arbeiten ist die Auseinandersetzung mit dem schöpferischen Streben des Menschen. Trinkls Fokus liegt dabei auf der Frage nach einem synthetischen Dasein, welche sie zugleich kritisch wie humorvoll untersucht. Sie interessiert die Idee der künstlichen Hervorbringung von Leben und seiner Kontrollierbarkeit. Das damit einhergehende dystopische Potential manifestiert sich in Trinkls Skulpturen hinter ihrem hoch ästhetisierten Erscheinungsbild.

Vor diesem Hintergrund greift ihre Arbeit ökologische, technologische, biologische wie mystische und mythologische Kontexte auf.

Nach Abschluss des Kollegs für Objektdesign im Jahr 2011 studierte Trinkl Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Wien, wo sie 2016 ihren Abschluss machte (BA). Derzeit absolviert sie ein MA Studium an der Universität für künstlerische und industrielle Gestaltung in Linz an der Abteilung für Plastische Konzeptionen bei Prof. Frank Louis.

Die Künstlerin zeigte ihre Arbeiten bisher in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Ausstellungen. Ihre letzten Projekte inkludieren Parallel Vienna (2022, Artist Statement), Salzkammergut Festwochen Gmunden (2022) sowie House of losing control/Vienna Art Week (2021). Trinkls Arbeiten befinden sich sowohl in privaten als auch in öffentlichen Sammlungen wie der Dr. Hans Hoch Stiftung in Neumünster/D. Die Künstlerin erhielt verschiedene Arbeits- und Reisestipendien, u.a. Reisestipendium des Bundeskanzleramtes Österreich. Darüber hinaus wurde sie für die Teilnahme an mehreren Artist in Residence Programmen ausgewählt, wie z.B. Die KUNSTsammlung des Landes OÖ im Salzamt Linz sowie die renommierte PILOTENKUECHE in Leipzig. Trinkl hat an Artist Talks teilgenommen, wie beispielsweise Talk im Kunstquartier Alte Handelsschule Leipzig, und wurde eingeladen, über ihre Arbeit im Freien Radio Neumünster zu sprechen, wo sie eine ihrer Residencies absolvierte.

DSC05895.jpg