Artist statement

In my work I address themes of the enigmatic, the symbolic and the archaic. Based on a fascination for objects that do not allow definitive attributions in terms of their purpose or function, I develop my sculptural works.

In my artistic practice, I immerse myself in an intuitive, playful process in which I am guided by sensual parameters such as the haptics and texture of the materials used and often by how they function. While interacting with the material, intuitively perceived visions of bodies or objects emerge. On a visual level, they transform into abstract forms that evade designation or categorization and create a tension between the known and unknown as well as the familiar and unfamiliar. I am interested in what lies in the subtle space in between.

Future issues related to modern technologies, post-humanism but also ideas from pop culture such as science fiction or concepts from religion and mysticism play an important role as a source of inspiration.

Artist Statement

In meiner Arbeit beschäftige ich mich mit Zwischenebenen der menschlichen Wahrnehmung und gehe der Frage nach, ob Kategorien wie Körper, Geist und Emotion verschoben oder aufgelöst werden können. In meiner künstlerischen Praxis arbeite ich mit intuitiv wahrgenommenen Visionen von Körpern oder Objekten. Auf der visuellen Ebene transformieren sich diese zu abstrakten Formen, die sich einer Bezeichnung oder Kategorisierung entziehen und den Spannungsbogen zwischen bekannt und unbekannt sowie vertraut und fremd aufmachen. Mich interessiert das subtile Sein dazwischen.

Dabei spielen zukünftige Fragestellungen im Zusammenhang mit modernen Technologien, Posthumanismus aber auch Ideen aus der Popkultur wie Science Fiction oder Konzepte aus Religion und Mystik eine wesentliche Rolle als Inspirationsgeber.

Der Fokus in meiner Arbeit liegt auf keramischen Materialien wie Steinzeug und Porzellan. Diese entsprechen durch ihre Fähigkeit zur Transformation meiner Herangehensweise an meine Arbeiten und kontrastieren durch ihre Sinnlichkeit mit den abstrakten Inhalten in meinen Werken.

 © 2020 by Daniela Trinkl. Vienna. All rights reserved.